Wine: Oko

January 11, 2009 at 10:53 pm 3 comments

I doubt that it is a secret that I love wine. And, as I sit here sipping a pinot noir, that I have rated a mere 3 on my 1 to 5 scale, I beg to tell you about a great wine that I have discovered that I am rating higher. 

I rarely return to wines. I like to get around, in the wine shop, that is. I mostly feel it a waste of time to drink the same wine twice, unless, of course, I love it. This new wine of mine is just that, loved.

Pinot grigio is one of those rare grape varietals that so consistently makes a good wine that a more expensive bottle will rarely be a whole lot better than a cheap wine. (However, this does happen occasionally.)

Oko, pictured above, is a good, and cheap, Italian pinot grigio. I love it so much that I have returned to it often in the past months. Like a good lover, I can expect it to be worth my time. (Haha… sorry, I couldn’t help but say it. It was going there in your head, I know it.)

To go deeper into my metaphor, I like my one night stands. I buy a bottle, drink it, and never return. Usually. However, this wine is one that I had to return to for more.

It is light and so perfect with the pasta dishes that I have been serving it with. But also with seafood and chicken, as I have served it with in the past. And, as I said earlier, it is cheap, only about $10/bottle. The current bottle was purchased at Target, though we usually get it at the wine shop near our home. Also, as mentioned before, it is Italian; Veneto, to be exact. And, best of all, Oko is made from organically grown grapes.

Come on, organic, cheap, AND tasty. If you see it, buy it. You’ll like it, I promise.

Entry filed under: Wine.

Sunday Wildcard – Update I LOVE Blog Giveaways

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Weekly Menu

Monday - Crafty
Tuesday - Green Post
Wednesday - Website
Thursday - Etsy Crushes
Friday - Party/Food
Saturday/Sunday - WILDCARD

Flickr Photos

RSS PoshMommaStore

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

