Do It Yourself Wine Journal

August 8, 2008 at 4:12 pm Leave a comment

Earlier today I had a link to a tutorial to make journals. Well, I ran with it. Far.

I made my own Wine Journal!!

I have been looking for a simple inexpensive wine journal for a few months and David and I had just started putting them digitally into our famundo site but I want to keep labels as well. So I used the tutorial as a backdrop to make my own journal.

Here is what I did:

First I took black 8.5×11 cardstock and folded it.

I then took my information for a journal and printed it onto 10 pieces of regular white computer paper. I then took 9 of those and printed them on the back as well. I folded these.

I put the white papers into the black, punch for holes with an exacto knife, and threaded them with black polka dot ribbon. I pulled through the second hole from outside to inside. Through first hole from inside to outside. Through last (fourth) hole from outside to inside. Then through third hole from inside to outside.

 

Next, I tied the two ends in a bow, finishing the binding.

Now, time to decorate. I simply made title badges and adhered it to a deep red card stock, which was then adhered to the book. I used red paper because this is my red wine book. I’ll use an off-white for white wines and a light pink for the rose. Decorating is wide open of course. Have fun with it. Here’s my finished product.

Here is a FREE PDF DOWNLOAD for the pages and the front labels. I hope you enjoy these as much as I know that I will.

There is a place on each pages for notes or a label, or both if you write small. If you’ve never tried taking off labels, you’re in for a treat. It’s really not hard, and there’s no sense to buy into any fancy label-remover kits. I have found that the easiest way is to lay bottles on the rack in your oven, turn it on to about 150 degrees and let them sit for about 45 minutes. This makes the glue sticky, at which point you take a sharp knife and carefully run it under the label until it comes free. The glue should still be sticky enough to place it right into the book.

Enjoy!!

Entry filed under: Do It Yourself, Freebies, Tutorials, Wine.

Party Planning Mode: Commenced. Next Assignment

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Weekly Menu

Monday - Crafty
Tuesday - Green Post
Wednesday - Website
Thursday - Etsy Crushes
Friday - Party/Food
Saturday/Sunday - WILDCARD

Flickr Photos

RSS PoshMommaStore

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

